The organizational structure of the Nordic Centre in India consists of: The General Assembly with representatives from all the Nordic member universities, which handles all matters of principle and of strategic importance for the NCI. The General Assembly meets at least once a year at a location and time decided by the Board.

Each NCI member has to nominate a person who represents the university at the General Assembly (GA) of the NCI. The GA meets annually, with representatives from all the Nordic member universities, which handles all matters of principle and of strategic importance for the NCI.


The Director who is appointed for a fixed period of time and is responsible for the daily activities of the NCI. The Director reports directly to the Board.


NCI is functioning in accordance with the established bye-laws

NCI Board

The NCI has a board with one elected Chairperson and five members and their deputies from each Nordic country. The Board ensures that the NCI is operated in accordance with its aims and regulation. The board is elected every two years and each member can nominate a candidate. The board meets regularly during the year and oversees and directs the activities and strategies of the NCI.


Uwe Skoda, Associate professor, Aarhus University,
School of Culture and Society – India and South Asia Studies , Jens Chr. Skous Vej 7, Building 1465, 322,   8000 Aarhus C, Denmark.


Prof. Aradhna Aggarwal, Copenhagen Business School
Address: Department of International Economics and Management, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark

Deputy member

Stine Simonsen Puri, University of Copenhagen
Address: Department of Cross-Cultural and Regional Studies, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Prof. Mikko Ruohonen, University of Tampere
Address: University of Tampere, Finland 


Deputy member:

Dr. Sirpa Tenhunen, Professor, Senior Lecturer , University of Jyväskylä
Address: The Department of History and Ethnology, Room No. H232, University of Jyväskylä

Krishna Kumar Damodaran, University of Iceland
Address: School of Engineering and Natural Sciences, University of Iceland, Iceland
Deputy member:

Hafliði Sævarsson, University of Iceland
Address: Project Manager, International Office, University of Iceland, Iceland

Dr. Anne Waldrop, Associate Professor, Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences
Address: Department of International Studies and Interpreting, Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences, Falbes gate 5, Oslo, FG333 Oslo, Norway 


Deputy member:

Bjørn Erik Andersen, University of Bergen
Address:Senior Adviser, Division of Research Administration, University of Bergen, Norway


Per Nilsson, Senior Advisor, International Affairs, Umeå University
Address: Administration Building, level 3, International Office 90187 Umeå SE



Deputy member:

Linda Lane, Senior lecturer, University of Gothenburg
Address: Department of Social Work,University of Gothenburg, Sweden

External Nordic Observer
Nordic Institute of Asian Studies (NIAS)
Dr. Geir Helgesen, Director of NIAS
Address: NIAS, University of Copenhagen, City Campus, Øster Farimagsgade 5, 1353, Copenhagen, Denmark 


Senior Advisor
Professor emeritus Neelambar Hatti
Department of Economic History
Address: Lund University Box 7083
SE-220 07 Lund. Sweden
Tel: 0046 46 2227488/0046 701 480001